Welcome to Macknade Fine Foods

Macknade Fine Foods

Did you know your Internet Explorer is out of date?

To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page

If you understand that your browser is inadequate but you still wish to view the site click here

- Macknade Fine Foods
All customers

Andy Mack

When he’s not in the kitchen, Andy’s out and about playing gigs to sell-out crowds.

Tell us a bit about yourself

My name is Andy Mack and I’m a professional musician of many years.  I am ‘Tall Simon’ in a Simon & Garfunkel tribute act which tours nationally and once a year we come to Macknade to play what has become one of our favourite venues, where there is always a fantastic sold out audience.

What food do you especially like to eat/cook?

As much of a cliché as it may sound, I like cooking and eating every kind of food. I love finding new flavours or combinations which I haven’t tried before – often the more disgusting sounding the better! One thing I’d really like to try is that Scandinavian rotted fish dish, where you have to open the can under water because the smell is so bad. I’d also like to try something a friend told me he had in Paris once – a baguette filled with duck hearts. Yum!

What cuisines inspire you/do you enjoy most?

Although I love all kinds of food what I always end up coming back to is the classic French style. It helps that we have a similar climate to France so ingredients are readily available when seasonal and fresh and appropriate herbs can be grown in the garden etc… There’s a wonderful versatility and subtlety in French food, which isn’t always found in others. The range from delicate to full and rich flavours means there’s always something to play with. Add a good French wine into the mix and the combinations are endless.